Channel 10 ‘ Saving Babies ‘

Well you know how all the traffic stops to look at a car crash?? Its just one of those things you know you shouldn’t stop to look at but you just cant help yourself.

Well that was me last night. Only it wasn’t a car crash, it was a show on channel 10 called ‘ Saving Babies’.

Its filmed in a NICU at one of Australia’s best women and children’s hospital.

Now I knew I shouldn’t watch it, I knew it would upset me, I knew it would remind me of what we have been through and I knew it would remind me our arms are empty.

So I watched it!

Apparently there are only happy endings. And ok that’s nice. For those families. But it made me think about the babies and families they might have followed and filmed, only to have the baby die. I guess they just scrap those stories. Film a heap and only show the stories of those babies that lived. I know people don’t want to watch things on TV about babies becoming angels, but I just think its sad that the short lives of some of those little bubs are just thrown to the side. Like they meant nothing.

ANYWAY, I watched, and I shouldn’t have. I got a huge headache, vomited a few times and then lost the plot BIG time. I think I may have gone mad for a moment to two.

Poor S had to come home. I ended up at the Medical Center. I needed something to stop my eyes throbbing out of my head.

The poor Dr must have wondered what the hell I was on. Instead of giving me some pills for my head he decided to sedate me!!!! A needle in the bum and I was out for the count within 15 min.

I wake today feeling embarrassed for my carry on last night, for making S worry, for losing control, for not being thankful for what I DO have and I feel like I have been hit by a truck!

I might give the show a miss next week. 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Ya poor thing, sorry but you were stronger than me there was no way I was going to watch that show.
    Hope ya feeling better chicky. xx

  2. Oh B, you poor thing- there was NO WAY on earth I was going to watch that show!

    Glad you’re feeling better x

  3. I am proud of you for trying, you are much braver than me. I am so sorry of the outcome though. Sometimes it’s easier to be a sook like me and avoid the bittersweet moments. xxx

  4. I get sucked into shows like that all the time. I don’t know why I watch them. I feel like I’m starting to enter the lovely anger stage of grief and I now get so mad at the happy stories.

    Just know you’re not alone out there in grief-land. There are many of us with dead babies.

Leave a Reply

