I Think This Is How I Cope

I did something kinda odd today. I cant tell my family, and I have not even told S because I know it will upset him. The rest of my family will just think I have lost the plot and that its totally unhealthy.

I have volunteered to the hospital Zak and I were sent to after he was born to be a ‘cuddle Mum’.

You help out in NICU with bubs that need physical contact. Babies that have to stay in hospital for weeks and months at a time don’t have their Mums and Dads there with them all the time.

So I’m waiting on a letter back from the hospital. I was honest and told them about Zak. And I’m guessing there is a huge chance I might look like some phsyco mother that’s out to steel someones baby. But it really has nothing to do with that at all. I just wanted to give something back to the hospital. I have worked with babies for many years and I ‘think’ I would be good at it.

Will see what they say before I tell S and my family about it. No use getting everyone upset if its never going to happen.

Also I wanted to thank you all for your replies to my last post. I feel better today. I think I was just tired and feeling really grumpy. I’m normally a much more understanding person. Just having a few odd experiences with people IRL as well as ‘net friends’.

6 Responses

  1. Oh B what a beautiful thing to do, I just don’t know where you pull all this courage from and thats what I love about you. Your never a me, me, me person, your always thinking of others. xx

  2. I think this is fantastic–it sounds like it’s something that will make you feel better. I know I couldn’t do it myself. But, if there is comfort for you, in comforting those little babies–then it is a win win situation. I think you are a very caring and generous soul. And this takes a lot of courage.

  3. I echo the 2 ladies above me, you are the most kind and caring person I know – to do something like this, even think about doing it, shows just how remarkable you are.

    Much love to you xxx

  4. i love this idea and hope you get the opportunity to spend some time with the babies this way.
    Good luck and let us know how it turns out!
    Anns xo

  5. Hiya!

    I think that is a great idea. After reading your posts for the last few months I am sure you are strong enough to handle any emotions that we all would feel being close to the high care babies.

    Good luck, hope it turns out for the best.

    MrsG xoxoxo

  6. Gosh I think that’s a Great idea. I would Love to do something like that. I hope they Ok you to do it. You’d be Great!

Leave a Reply

