‘SEX AT 6PM’ – This Book Makes Me Want To Drink

I am about 3/4 of the way through the book ‘ SEX AT 6 PM’.

I was really excited to find a book that was written by someone in Australia. (Many of the IVF books I have read have been from the US)

I have to say I am finding the book VERY hard to read. I thought it would make me upset, teary and just be a little to close to home but instead I am just finding it frustrating.

Its kind of set out in diary form and written by a lady who decides later on in life that she might like to have children, though through the whole book you do wonder why she is bothering with IVF at all as she doesn’t seem to want a baby for any other reason other than ‘ she cant have one so she wants one’. (Just my opinion after reading the book)

Anyway the reason I find the book so frustrating is because I find the female half of this couple so irrational, over the top and completely self absorbed. (Though she seems to think its her husband that has these problems)

I am definitely going to make S read the book. Then my Mum and sister. The author truly makes me look like I have it SO together! S needs to see just how good he has it.

I have not finished the book yet so I’m not 100 % sure how it ends, but if her husband leaves her I wont be overly surprised. Some of her entries made me question how he had not run her over with the car. Lol They say IVF ends many marriages, and after reading this book I truly can see how now.

Don’t get me wrong, I know all to well IVF is hard, frustrating and does make you irrational, but after knowing MANY women doing IVF I can honestly say I have never met anyone who is openly like this woman. I KNOW I’m not!  (There would be divorce at my house if I)

I’m not sure if the author has written the book knowing how ‘over the top’ she sounds/is/was or if she is in complete denial as to her behaviour but god her husband needs some kind of ‘Husband IVF’ award!

If you have read the book I would love to know what you thought of it.

Leave a Reply

