A Doppler Doesnt Give All The Information

I have had some friends talk about getting a Doppler when they get pregnant.

I had a Doppler when I was pregnant with Zak. The thought that some think a good Doppler reading means all is good with Bub has me going into a frenzy of panic……………….

S got me a VERY good Doppler when I was 10 weeks pregnant. It was great. Very reassuring if movement was little. We used it just about every second day. Not because we thought something was wrong but because it was so cool to hear your bub alive inside.

The day that I didn’t feel movement, including the morning I went to the hospital, we had used the Doppler (because of lack of movement) many times. Each time Zak’s HB was between 150 and 160. So a very strong HB.

It was for this reason that I NEARLY didn’t go to the hospital. I thought all must have been fine. It was only that S said we should go anyway (I didn’t want to waste anyones time) that we went. Zak’s HR was fine at all 3 hospitals. BUT he was VERY sick and at some stage squashing his cord.

Please don’t take a good Doppler reading as ‘everything is ok’. If you have lack of movements go get it checked out, and if that means going to the hospital 3 times a week then that’s what you do. If Zak had not been delivered when he was it is thought he would have been stillborn the very next day.

I probably wont even get our Doppler out of its box if I get pg again. It gave me a false sense of security.

doppler.jpg

 

AN ADDED NOTE:

Just wanted to say that I’m not warning against having a Doppler. Just don’t think that because your Doppler shows a good HR that you should ignore other signs of a baby in distress.

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this information. I’m sure that many people (like me) had no idea.

  2. Yep. I use my doppler first thing in the morning as a quick check…but if I don’t feel movement by 8:30am, I know it’s time to panic…since that’s a “normal movement time.” The thing is, there is no way to make sure your safe from all bad things. I’ve not had cord issues. So though I’m aware of them, I’m probably not as cautious about them as I am about infection issues (which I have had). So this is a good reminder. Thanks. As my grandma used to say, “If it ain’t one thing, it’s another.”

  3. This post echoes many of the comments I got after a recent post at the Baby Loss Directory. I hadn’t done kick counts for V. but several women said that they had done them religiously and their babies still died. Sometimes all it takes is a few minutes.

    I guess the message is that sometimes you really couldn’t have done more. It’s one I haven’t really fully accepted myself yet. I read a story on a message board soon after V died about a mother who was in hospital being monitored for decels in her baby’s heartrate. The kept monitoring her until the heart rate had been stable for two hours. Then they moved her to another bed – and she was disconnected from the monitor for about 30 mins. They hooked her up again once she got to her new bed… and the heart-rate was gone. What more care could that woman have received? What more could have been done?

    I don’t mean for this to be totally gloom and doom, sorry. I don’t think I would get a doppler this time around either.

  4. I know what you mean Rosepetal. I ‘think’ I did all I could for Zak, (on a bad day I think I could have done more) but I nearly didn’t. If it hadn’t been for S I would never have gone to the hospital. Worse still, when I got to hospital I was having contractions 3 min apart and was dilated. I argued with them and told them that I had been feeling those ‘contractions’ as they called them and that it was just my baby rolling over!

    I’m not sure who I thought I was as a first time pregnant person to argue with a midwife and a machine about contractions, but I just thought if I had been having contractions I should have been in pain. It seems I had been having them for over a month and on a regular bases for about a week. If I hadn’t gone to hospital I probably would have left it to late and had him at home or on the side of the road. And that would have been a nightmare.

    Sometimes we cant do anything more than we have, but I would hate to think people put all their faith and trust into a good doppler reading and ignored other things such as lack of movement.

    Hugs
    xxx

  5. Great information sweetie. I didn’t get a doppler with our Zach or my other 2 kids but I honestly thought about it.

Leave a Reply

