When You Cant Find It, Make It

I have been looking for a frame to put one of my favorite photos of Zak in.  I wanted a baby boy frame. But I wanted large frame that would hold a big photo.

Well I came to the conclusion that people just don’t like to have large photos of their bubs in baby frames. I couldn’t find one anywhere!

We have lots of photos of Zak in frames. Wooden ones and silver ones, but we didn’t have a frame that was ‘baby’ like. It didn’t have to be flash. Just a nice colour, cute and boy looking. I looked ALL over the place for one.

So what does a Mum do when she cant find what she wants??? She makes it!  I finished it today. Its very simple. So simple that I cant work out why I couldn’t find one in the shops.

Anyway I wanted to share it with you all.

The photo of Zak is not the clearest we have, it was taken in a dark room BUT it is the only photo we have of him when he was alive with little booties on, and those big feet at the bottom of those beautiful little legs just make me melt inside.

zakphotoframe-006.jpg

9 Responses

  1. Wow, you’ve done an awesome job! And the photo is gorgeous – did his feet really fill those booties?? Well done Mum 🙂

  2. Yes they did!
    For 32 weeks gestation he was a nice size.
    He was 49 cm, 5 pound 10 and his feet were 7.5 cm!!!!!!! (I got the feet measurement from the autopsy).
    His Dad is a big boy though. S is 6 foot 7 and has size 16-18 feet (depending on the shoe)so we were never going to have a little baby. The Dr’s in NICU said if I had gone to term he would have been about 11 pound.

    Hugs
    xxx

  3. I have been lurking here for awhile now, and finally got around to getting a typepad account so that I can comment! I love your christmas spirit – can I come to your place for a chrissy bbq? LOL

    I love the frame you’ve made, it is beautiful. I know how hard it is trying to find a frame like that too. I’ve been searching everywhere and cannot find anything remotely similar to what I want.

    Love Zaks big feet in the booties – what a beautiful boy.

  4. That is a great picture and a great frame.

  5. I love your frame, I think its a really nice thing to be able to make things for Zak.
    Inspired by your craft I went and bought a memory box today for all J’s things and I’m going to collect pics to decoupage it with.

    Zak was a very beautiful little boy

    Coggy x

  6. It’s a Great Frame! I’m with you on finding a Frame that is nice. I’ve looked and looked. We only have an Ultrasound picture of our Zach and it’s at 8 weeks so it’s been really hard to find a frame for it that I like.
    I think you did a Great job with it! And the picture of Zak is beautiful. What a beautiful boy.

  7. You are so clever, that frame is so simple but so effective and I love it. The photo is gorgeous and the booties look adorable. Well done. You should be proud of yourself.

  8. The frame is gorgeous and so is the pic!

  9. I love the frame and the little (big!) booties. He’s gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

